History of Bigg Boss: India’s Highest Rated Reality TV Show

Bigg Boss is one of the most popular and one of the best-rated reality shows in Indian television history. The show is independently being telecasted in various languages in India under the same name with multiple hosts in each language. The current season of Bigg Boss in the Hindi language is being hosted by none other than our beloved Salman Khan. This show is a huge hit in all languages & has a huge fan base across all age groups.

The Origin of Bigg Boss

To those who are wondering what was the origin of Bigg Boss or where exactly Bigg Boss was first started then let’s help you with the answers. Bigg Boss is the Indian version of the highly popular Dutch reality show ‘Big Brother’ which was developed by John de Mol. Big Brother was first aired in the Netherlands back in the year 1999. This reality show features different contestants who live together in a house for a few months and are isolated from the rest of the world till the completion of the show. The contestants of this show are referred to as ‘Housemates’.

The contestants would be given different tasks and are continuously monitored by television cameras that are placed in different parts of the house. Contestants also carry a personal microphone so viewers can not only see and hear but also clearly understand what exactly is going on in the house. As the show progresses, housemates are voted out by each other based on their task performance & how they build their connections with each other. The one who remains at the end would be declared as the season’s winner & would be awarded a huge cash prize.

Bigg Boss Debut on Indian Television

Sony TV has come up with the idea of making India’s own version of ‘Big Brother’ & the title for the show has been selected as ‘Bigg Boss’. This reality shows Bigg Boss first aired in 2006 with Arshad Warsi as the host. However, it took a lot of time for the show to gain popularity & it suddenly rose to fame when Shilpa Shetty emerged as the winner of Big Brother 5.  The second season of the show was telecasted by Colors TV with Shilpa Shetty replacing Arshid Warsi as the season’s host.

Bigg Boss Elimination Process

Housemates in Bigg Boss would be facing elimination each week. Once the given tasks get completed housemates nominate two of their peers for eviction. Contestants who get the most nominations would then face a public vote process & the one who gets the minimum votes for the public would be evicted from the House.

Bigg Boss Hindi All Seasons Winners List

  • Bigg Boss Winner Season 1 (2007): Rahul Roy
  • Bigg Boss Winner Season 2 (2008): Ashutosh Kaushik
  • Bigg Boss Winner Season 3 (2009): Vindu Dara Singh
  • Bigg Boss Winner Season 4 (2011): Shweta Tiwari
  • Bigg Boss Winner Season 5 (2012): Juhi Parmar
  • Bigg Boss Winner Season 6 (2013): Urvashi Dholakia
  • Bigg Boss Winner Season 7 (2013): Gauhar Khan
  • Bigg Boss Winner Season 8 (2015): Gautam Gulati
  • Bigg Boss Winner Season 9 (2016): Prince Narula
  • Bigg Boss Winner Season 10 (2017) : Manveer Gurjar
  • Bigg Boss Winner Season 11 (2018): Shilpa Shinde
  • Bigg Boss Winner Season 12 (2019): Dipika Kakkar
  • Bigg Boss Winner Season 13 (2020): Sidharth Shukla
  • Bigg Boss Winner Season 14 (2021): Rubina Dilaik

Bigg Boss Telugu All Seasons Winners List

  • Bigg Boss Telegu Season 1 Winner (2017): Siva Balaji
  • Bigg Boss Telegu Season 2 Winner (2018): Kaushal Manda
  • Bigg Boss Season 3 Winner (2019): Rahul Sipligunj
  • Bigg Boss Telugu season 4 Winner (2020): Abijeet

Telugu Version of Bigg Boss

The first season of the Telugu version of Bigg Boss was hosted by Jr NTR & starting from the very first season the show has garnered tremendous popularity. The second season of the show was hosted by none other than our beloved Actor Nani.

The third & fourth seasons of the show were successfully hosted by actor Akkineni Nagarjuna & the show ratings also topped the TRP charts with his entry.


Share This Post

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply