Jennifer Lawrence Biography – Early Life, Movies, Awards, Family & Net Worth

Jennifer Lawrence

Jennifer Lawrence is a globally acclaimed Oscar-winning actress who predominantly works in the Hollywood film industry. She has a brilliant on-screen and off-screen persona. She’s known for her versatile acting and was a part of the lead cast in the many blockbuster films like ‘Winter’s Bone,’ ‘The Hunger Games,’ ‘X-Men’ and ‘Joy.’ She won an Oscar for her role in ‘Silver Linings Playbook’ and she also won the Academy Award for best actress for her performance in ‘Silver Linings Playbook’ at the age of just 22 years.

Jennifer Lawrence’s Early Life:


Jennifer Lawrence was born on August 15, 1990, in a suburb of Louisville, Kentucky. Her full name is Jennifer Shrader Lawrence. Her parents Karen and Gary owned a farm just outside the city and the couple had three children. Jennifer Lawrence happens to be younger a member of the family with two elder brothers, Blaine and Ben. As a child, Lawrence was very athletic and played field hockey, softball and also participated in cheerleading activities. Before getting into the mainstream acting career, she worked in a and community theatre and did modeling as well.

Jennifer Lawrence’s Acting Career:


Lawrence’s started her acting career at the very young age of 14 when she was spotted by a stranger for a photoshoot. She did ads for MTV and was also a part of the cast of the 2007 thriller ‘Devil You Know’ with Lena Olin but the film got delayed with distribution issues and was finally released in the year 2013.

Later, she played small roles in several series like Medium, Monk and Cold Case, and the TV series The Bill Engvall Show. At this time she also featured in the mainstream films like ‘The Poker House’ and ’The Burning Plain’ alongside Charlize Theron and Kim Basinger.

Winter’s Bone:

In the year 2010, Jennifer Lawrence was a part of the critically acclaimed film titled ‘Winter’s Bone’ for which she was nominated for an Academy Award, Golden Globe, and a Screen Actors Guild Award.

The year 2011 was a successful year for Jennifer Lawrence both critically and commercially as she was a part of many successful films like ‘The Beaver’ with Mel Gibson, Jodie Foster, and Anton Yelchin and she was also a part of the X-Men: First Class in which she played the role of Mystique.

‘Silver Linings’ Oscar:

85th Annual Academy Awards - Show
HOLLYWOOD, CA – FEBRUARY 24: Actress Jennifer Lawrence accepts the Best Actress award for “Silver Linings Playbook” during the Oscars held at the Dolby Theatre on February 24, 2013, in Hollywood, California. (Photo by Kevin Winter/Getty Images)

In the year 2012, Jennifer Lawrence worked in multiple successful films including the thriller ‘House at the End of the Street’, and two dramas with Bradley Cooper: ‘The Falling and Silver Linings Playbook’, which earned an array of award nominations and a Golden Globe win (best actress in a comedy or musical) for Lawrence. The film went on to earn her an Oscar.

Hunger Games (2012):

Hunger Games

In the year 2012, Jennifer was cast for the female lead role in The Hunger Games (2012)—the film version of the first book in the Hunger Games trilogy. She played the role of Katniss Everdeen and her performance garnered her huge stardom and made her an overnight star.

‘Joy,’ ‘Passengers’ and ‘Mother’:


In the year 2015, Jennifer was cast for the film titled ‘Joy’ and the film won her third Golden Globe for her brilliant performance. Days later she received another Oscar nod.

Jennifer Lawrence, at the age of 25 has become the youngest actor with four Academy Award nominations.

Jennifer Lawrence’s Net Worth:

Being one of Hollywood’s richest actresses, Jennifer Lawrence’s net worth is estimated to be around 160 million dollars (2021).


Share This Post

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply